Interview: Debra Dunbar – Author of Three Wishes

With Three Wishes being released just last week, the lovely Debra Dunbar stopped by to tell us all about what inspired her to write the exciting urban fantasy!

For those who haven’t yet read Three Wishes yet, can you sum it up in your own words? 

Dar is a bad boy, a real demon.  No, a real demon. And he’s just what an angel needs – especially an angel who is toying with the thought of sin.  When Asta needs a demon’s help to protect the city of Chicago, Dar jumps right to her aid.  And who can resist a funny, smart, and oh-so-bad demon that looks amazing in or out of a designer suit?

Three Wishes and the Imp series are predominantly urban fantasy, what drew you to writing in that genre? 

I’ve always loved the supernatural, even when I was a kid.  I don’t think I could write any other genre without sticking some element of paranormal in it.  Werewolves in sci-fi. Wraiths in an outdoor activities guide.  Zombies in children’s literature.

I love Asta, but of all the characters you have written about, which is your favourite

I’d have to say Sam (Samantha Martin of the Imp Series).  She does the horrible things we all wish we could do.  I love how she can walk through a bad section of town alone, daring anyone to jump her.  What a shock for a bad guy to try to assault a vulnerable woman, only to find she’s actually a demon who would happily kill him and take his soul if only it didn’t involve so much paperwork.

What was your inspiration for choosing to write about angels and demons? 

Honestly?  It’s a long story about reading Jung and Marie-Louise von Franz’s interpretations of fairy tales.  One day I was jogging and started wondering – what if a demon hung out here long enough with humans, constrained from doing really horrible things?  Would they eventually develop a sort of morality?  Would they develop compassion?  How much of morality is a learned thing?  And are angels all that different than demons?  Good and evil are a subjective, after all.

See?  You probably are sorry you asked!

What made you choose to set Three Wishes in Chicago? 

I grew up just outside of Chicago, across in line in Indiana, and have always loved the city.  When I decided to do a book with Dar as the hero, I knew I wanted to have him a bit away from Sam and the rest of the Imp Series demons. Chicago was the perfect spot.

Three Wishes was released this week, what else have you been working on? 

I’m most of the way through the draft of Sins of the Flesh – book 2 in my Half Breed series.  The heroine is half succubus/half elf, and her love interest is an incubus.  So lots of sex scenes set in beautiful Maui!

What was the process like for writing Three Wishes, did you have a set plan? How long did it take you to write? 

I actually had the outline for this book done a year in advance, but it needed to wait its turn.  I started writing it in November, but had to put it on hold for a short story deadline and some promotional activities.  By mid-December, I was pretty much glued to my keyboard as I wanted to make sure I could finish it in time for an early March release.

You’re having a dinner party, which three fictional characters would you invite and why? 

Thor:  He needs to keep his shirt off at the dinner table, though.  No party is complete without a semi-naked, totally hot demi-god.

Lucifer: He was absolutely charming in Paradise Lost, and I’ve always been a sucker for the rebellious ones.

Bugs Bunny: He should have made that left turn at Albuquerque, but wound up here, having dinner with me, Thor, and Satan.  I figure he’ll keep the conversation from getting too heavy, although Lucifer might kill him.  Or not.  I think they might be kindred spirits deep down.

Thank you so much for taking part in this interview, is there anything you’d like to add to finish us off?

I hope everyone enjoys reading about Asta and Dar just as much as I’ve enjoyed writing them.  Thanks for having me here!

Want to know more about Debra and her books? You can visit her website, or see her books on Goodreads.
Three Wishes is available now on Amazon and Barnes and Noble. 

2 thoughts on “Interview: Debra Dunbar – Author of Three Wishes

Leave a Reply

